He planted bourbon canes, thus founding the first sugar estate in the island, which was to be the backbone of the economy from the late 18th century well into the 1920s.
On his lands was a muddy patch of graveyard known as the Campo Santo, containing a single legible tombstone, that of Jean Creteau, who died in 1745.
Another attraction was the Little Carib Theatre which showcased the talents of many local dancers and actors.
A small estate office was erected in 1907 to collect land rents and is still to be seen on the southwestern corner below Murray Street playground, the site of the old sugar factory.
Streets were laid out which reflected the Siegert family-Carlos, Alfredo, Rosalino, Ana, Petra and Alberto.
This was later to become the official burial ground for the city of Port-of-Spain and took the name Lapeyrouse Cemetery.
The Lapeyrouse family sold the property, with its sugar factory, to Henry Murray in 1820.